Sunday, May 5, 18:00
Podewil (Mitte)

Film Screening

The documentary film »Système K« by French director Renaud Barret, portrays Tsimba together with other artists who are part of a vital and passionate subculture in Kinshasa and who see the city as their stage, where their bodies and recycled materials create haunting political art outside the world public.
»Système K« celebrated its world premiere at this year's Berlinale in February.

Freddy Tsimba, one of the artists portrayed in the film is invited to the FRATZ Festival and will speak to us about his work. He will also participate in the discussion »Did you think of the children?« on Monday evening at 17:30 at Podewil.

www.le-pacte.com/international/new-films/single/system-k/

Freddy Tsimba (Kinshasa/Congo, born 1967) is a visual artist. He lives and works in his hometown Kinshasa. He became known worldwide through numerous exhibitions in Africa, Europe, Canada and China.
To oppose war with a message of remembrance and peace is Tsimba's motivation when he welds tens of thousands of old cartridge cases into oversized body silhouettes.

»My real school, even if I studied Fine Arts in Kinshasa, is the street where I get plenty of supplies [...] and when I go to my studio, »my humanitarian corridor« («mon couloir humanitaire») as I call it, I throw up everything that the street has given me to see, through what I touch - wire, sheet metal, etc., to pay tribute to those people who are everywhere victims of the injustices of others, of misunderstandings. Being an artist is an obsession.«

Tsimba is invited to speak at the FRATZ Symposium about his work and to discuss with us postcolonialism and artistic freedom, as well as motivations and effects of artistic creation.
www.freddytsimba.com

Sonntag, 5. Mai, 18:00 Uhr
Podewil (Mitte)

Filmpräsentation

Der Dokumentarfilm »Système K« des französischen Regisseurs Renaud Barret porträtiert Tsimba zusammen mit anderen Künstler*innen, die Teil einer vitalen und leidenschaftlichen Subkultur in Kinshasa sind und die Stadt als ihre Bühne begreifen, wo sie mit ihren Körpern und recycelten Materialien eindringliche politische Kunst abseits der Weltöffentlichkeit kreieren.
»Système K« feierte auf der diesjährigen Berlinale im Februar seine Weltpremiere.

Freddy Tsimba, einer der porträtierten Künstler*innen, ist zu FRATZ eingeladen und wird mit uns über seine Arbeit sprechen. Er wird außerdem an der Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema »Habt ihr an die Kinder gedacht?« am Montagabend um 17:30 Uhr im Podewil teilnehmen.

www.le-pacte.com/international/new-films/single/system-k/

Freddy Tsimba (Kinshasa/Kongo, geb. 1967) ist bildender Künstler. Er lebt und arbeitet in seiner Heimatstadt Kinshasa. Durch zahlreiche Ausstellungen in Afrika, Europa, Kanada und China wurde er weltweit bekannt.
Dem Krieg eine Botschaft von Erinnerung und Frieden entgegenzusetzen ist Tsimbas Antrieb, wenn er zehntausende alte Patronenhülsen zu überdimensionalen Körpersilhouetten verschweißt.

»Meine eigentliche Schule, auch wenn ich in Kinshasa Bildende Kunst studiert habe, ist die Straße. Sie bringt mir viele Materialien [...] und wenn ich in mein Atelier gehe, »meinen humanitären Korridor« («mon couloir humanitaire»), wie ich es nenne, spucke ich alles aus, was mir die Straße gegeben hat, um durch das zu sehen, was ich berühre – Draht, Blech usw. Um jenen Menschen zu gedenken, die überall Opfer der Ungerechtigkeiten anderer Menschen und von Missverständnissen sind. Künstler zu sein ist eine Besessenheit.«

Tsimba ist eingeladen, auf dem FRATZ Symposium über seine Arbeit zu sprechen und mit uns über Postkolonialismus und künstlerische Freiheit, sowie Beweggründe und Wirkung künstlerischen Schaffens zu diskutieren.
www.freddytsimba.com